Power Series 2 – March 7, 2020

The first race is upon us and promises to be a good one. With fine weather predicted at around 24 degrees max on Saturday we can look forward to a dry race letting the drivers give their cars the best shot at performing. As its the first race set for points, everybody will be out there giving it horns. 
Quali is set to start at 10am with the first race set at 13:40 followed by 16:10 for a nice late afternoon race.
As always it promises to be a wide variety of cars on display. Whether you consider yourself a Ford man or an appreciator of Italian infused Alfas, there is something for everyone. O yes, there will also be VW’s

19th Passion For Speed

Historic Car Racing

Rudolf de Vos simply streaked into the distance in heat one with the Little Chev V8 cruising after the Ford Escort 2.3 of Franco Donadio expired with overheating. Eric van der Merwe gave valiant chase in heat two but the Lynx Motorsport Porsche 944T had to settle for second overall. With a break out time of 1min24 in class A it was impressive to see this Can Am circulate at 1min21.194. Trevor Momberg quietly slipped into third overall with his always immaculate Ford Capri Interceptor 3.4 V6 with Jaco Lambert fourth in his almost to modern looking VW Motorsport VW Jetta.

Erik Mouton managed to miss all the obstacles and sort of stayed on the circuit long enough to bring Battlestar Galactica alias the Chevrolet De Ville 6.3 V8 home in fifth place whilst Malcom Uytenbogaardt overworked the rubber on the Carter’s Boys Ford Granada Perana V8 in sixth spot. Dr Geoff Bihl won class B in his Lynx Motorsport Porsche 944 with Trevor Hutchings claiming first in class C with the No1 HSC Racing VW Scirocco. James Matthee won class D in his Honda CRX 1.6 with Steve Hallett claiming a debut class E win in his very neat Ford Capri 3.4 V6. Steve racing with the use of only one arm – and he used to race superbikes like that! Andrea Bate claimed class F in the Rob Tissington Morris Minor 1200.

Amongst the visiting crews it was Christopher Radloff that impressed most in his Toyota Corona. Eighth overall for the day certainly good going. Tim Boles had a good drive cut short in the Colin Ellison Ford Thunderbolt when something let go in the differential whilst the little Bestune Fabrication BMC Mini Morris 850 of Shawn Bester certainly found itself in amongst some heavy guns. – Patrick Vermaak ©

See http://bit.ly/37q0JkF for full details and photographs of this past event.

Historic Car Registration Day (2020)

Historic Car Racing

An above expected turnout from competitors in the historic racing category (38 in total with some 12 regular competitors yet to be presented) was done on Saturday 11 January 2020 whereby for the first time in a long time the category committee planned well in advance for all historic cars to be checked for compliance.  What was initially perceived perhaps as being a bit nerve racking turned out to be a fantastic day for the category.

Cars were lined up from as early as 08h30 on the day and boy did they turn up in full support of the registration day.  Not only were cars checked for compliance from both top and under neath but all cars were also weighed to ensure that their race weight was within that as is permitted within the category’s regulations.

Performed with a fantastic camaraderie among all historic competitions made the days efforts so much more worthwhile and many walked away not only feeling relieved but many with a broad smile of satisfaction as we head toward the 2020 season yet to get under way.

The day’s proceedings also ensured that food & beverage refreshments were provided for all competitors present and it sure had the atmosphere for a great season ahead.

The historic category under the leadership of the section chairman Jared Thompson, was most pleased with the above expected competitor turnout and thanked everyone for their full co-operation in ensuring that the Western Cape region slowly regains its rightful place in historic racing with a full compliment of both Pre-80 and Pre-90 competition cars for the season ahead.

(The Western Cape have been the custodians of the more modern Pre-90 category since 2016 and the Historic Motoring Commission has now adopted the category to be rolled out on a national basis throughout South Africa as from 2020)